Finding My Way Through The Maze

Welcome to week four. I have begun my internship at the Benjamin Franklin House located in Trafalgar Square. This small historic building is the last standing residence of Benjamin Franklin during his time in London. After Franklin returned to the United States to aid in the American Revolution, the home was transformed into a hotel, then an office, later a squatter home, and finally restored. The Friends of Benjamin Franklin restored the home to its former glory. They hope to show the public the Georgian architecture while giving the public a brief history of Franklin’s time in the home. If you ever find yourself in Trafalgar Square during the next three months, I will give you either a Historical Tour or an Architectural Tour of the home.

Every week, the girls and I pick a restaurant or a market for our Friday dinner. This week we went to Brixton Market. After a few wrong turns, a run in with Hozier (at least the venue he would be playing at that night), and nearly being attacked by street trash, we found our way to the market entrance. Brixton Market is located within what seems like a warehouse with multiple small stalls for restaurants. As we wandered through the halls I noticed that there were flags after every few restaurants. I later realized that multiple foods from different countries were represented. Our restaurant of choice was “Fish, Wings, and other Tings”. The food was great and the restaurant provides blankets since 90% of their customers eat at the tables outside.

This week’s play was “The Homecoming.” After leaving the family home six years earlier, the eldest son of a widowed man returns to his family home with his wife. The home appears to be haunted by the ghost of the deceased mother. It is never clear if the home is actually haunted or if all of the people are just insane. The wife seems almost robotic until towards the end of the play when she has sexual relations with both of the husband’s brothers in front of his face. At the end she chooses to stay with the husband’s family and become a prostitute instead of returning home to her two sons. Though the actors were fantastic, I did not enjoy the play. It was hard to keep up with the plot and it all seemed to come from someone’s nightmare. Out of all of the plays that I have had the privilege to see thus far, this would be my least favorite. The only good thing to come of the night was when my friend Deborah and I arrived late to the theater and were allowed to sit in the box seating for the duration of the show.

I felt that it was time to check another goal off for the semester and I decided on a pretty big one; to go exploring on my own. The struggle was too real last week because I didn’t have a phone and even though I still didn’t have one, I Ate, Prayed and Loved my way through it. I chose to turn right when I immediately entered the maze that is the market. I passed a customer sneaker designer, a sun glass hut, and a mini statue of Amy Winehouse before getting lost in the basement. I am not sure how I got there but I was able to find some old prints from World War II. On my next exploration of the market I will be sure to turn left to see what else is available.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

And what will I be able to do tomorrow that I cannot yet do today  — Eat. Pray. Love.

About Dajé Walker (17 Articles)
Dajé Walker is a sophomore studying Secondary Social Studies Education and History at the Pennsylvania State University. Her obsessions are learning about the history of different countries, trying new foods, and improving her very amateur photography skills. She will be studying abroad this spring with the Institute for the International Education of Students (IES Abroad) in London, England. As an aspiring educator and researcher, she hopes to learn from every experience that she has over the course of the semester. She will be writing weekly reflections on her adventures this semester.

Leave a Reply

