Juice Cleanse Challenge

One of our writers went on a five day juice cleanse. Here are the results.

Whether it be the lifestyle you are into, trying to shave off that freshman fifteen that hit you at the end of fall semester or getting beach ready for spring break, we all are looking for new and improved ways to make our bodies look and feel healthier. My roommate convinced me that it would be a good idea to try a  7-day juice cleanse. The rules were to drink three smoothies a day of only the things you juice eliminate all sugar or processed foods, and only water!

Day 1:  Considering that I still had to attend class and underestimated the prep work it took to actually make these smoothies I only had time to make two. Not to mention the restriction we made to only eating before nine.  The two beginner smoothies that we tried actually weren’t that bad. The first was what they called a mean green, which required apples, cucumber, kale, and lemon. The second didn’t have a name it was just lettuce, 1 apple, 2 handfuls of spinach, and 1tblspn of honey. Overall it wasn’t that bad I stayed hydrated and didn’t think about food too much.

Day 2: Tortuous!!! I fell asleep studying and completely forgot to make myself a smoothie for my 9:45 woke up STARVING but grabbed an orange and called it breakfast.  By the time my second class was done I was ready to cave and haul it to panda express but I had to rent a camera. Everything seemed ten times heavier than normal and I was exhausted after doing just the basic things I do everyday. I made a fruit based smoothie with 2 kiwis, 10 strawberry, 3 bananas, and 1 yogurt to see if my taste buds would forgive me. (They did!) But by the end of day 2 my roommate and me decided that we’d change the rules.

Still no eating after nine, going to the gym twice a week, water only, and healthy snacks in between the juices.

Day 3: They say day three is always the hardest day and boy was it. I was craving things that I had never even tasted. I learned by this point that it was more of a mind over matter thing. While keeping this in mind I made my kale, mango, pineapple, and soy vanilla milk. This was by far the most disgusting out of all the ones that I had made thus far. I gave up half way through the smoothie and just made a salad. I later tried 2 cups of orange juice, ½ cucumber, 10 or 12 grapes, and 2 handfuls of spinach it wasn’t that bad taste wise. It left me full and gave me a bunch of energy to finish studying when thoughts of bacon weren’t haunting me.

Day 4: It was unsettling how I had come to accept this no flavor cleanse; while there was only a day left I felt like I had years to go. Today it was the tropical green smoothie (everything at this point seemed green). It had 1 mango, 6 pineapple chunks, a handful of kale, 1 orange, and a piece of ginger root. The second smoothie consisted of 2 apples, 6 strawberries, and 1 bag of green tea, 1 tsp. of honey, and a slice of lemon.

Day 5: I had reached the finished line and was ready to be done quite frankly I remixed some of the recipes from the days before and then ate a salad with some chicken.

It was safe to say that juicing or being on a really strict diet was not for me! But I enjoyed trying new things and have even incorporated some of the new foods into my daily eating. However, I do believe that you can still eat what you want in moderation as long as you have a healthy lifestyle. But no matter what size, shape, or color you are beautiful!

2 Comments on Juice Cleanse Challenge

  1. Jordan nixon // March 4, 2016 at 2:23 pm // Reply

    This is a great article, glad I took the time to get inform on this.

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing and you kept the feelings real. As a person who follows a lifestyle of Juicing, your experience was valid to how the first few weeks kick off. However, it gets better as you research and find new recipes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

