Halfway Mark

One of our contributors is studying abroad in London this semester. Read about her journey!

In the United Kingdom they celebrate Mother’s day a little earlier than we do. Mother’s Day was 6 March 2016. I cashed in on some of the Mother’s Day deals around the city. Happy Mother’s Day Mom! I enjoyed all of the treats and restaurant deals in your honor.

This week’s play was entitled “Mother.” After her children grew up and moved out of the home, a stay at home Mother no longer has anyone to put her time into. She becomes delusional and addicted to medication. There are two realities that occur during the play. The audience is never made aware of which reality is real and which one is happening in the Mother’s head. The same scene would occur with each character having a different reaction in the different realities.

This weekend I went to Covent Garden Market. The market has a mix of high end shops and street stalls. The products sold in the stalls ranged from handmade jewelry to hand stitched aprons with puns sewn on them. It was a completely different atmosphere than what I have experienced in markets such as Brick Lane and Camden Market. There was a duo street performance at the end of the street. Each man played off of each other in order to get the crowds reaction. I typically do not see many families at the markets that I go to. It was refreshing to see more than just adults my age roaming through the stalls.

I made a list of the places that I wanted to go to during the last full month of my program. The Natural History Museum was a must. I arrived late in the afternoon which did not help me. The queue was about 15 minutes and then each guest was allowed entrance. I explored the mammal section to the human anatomy. In the science hall there are minerals lining each side of the room. The largest diamond is housed in London. I stuck around the South Kensington area for lunch. There was a small square with shops and restaurants. It reminded me of a small town square.

With only 6 short weeks left in my program, I am attempting to take on everyone of my goals that I have not accomplished. I have travelled alone but these were mainly trips to markets. I woke up early Sunday morning and decided to travel to The Warner Brothers Harry Potter Studios. After mapping and rechecking my directions multiple times, I set out for the studios. It was about a 2 hour journey if you include the moments when I thought I was lost.

My only companions were my selfie stick and cell phone. The tour began with a brief prelude from the main actors. We started in the Great Hall and saw the actual costumes used by the actors. From there I was free to explore the set and props at my own pace. After checking that selfie sticks were okay, I took pictures of everything. It was a struggle trying to take a picture of myself grabbing a box at Ollivander’s Wand Shop. It was a great day overall. I could move through each portion at my own pace and I could geek out as much as I wanted. I had a goofy grin plastered on my face through the whole studio tour.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Dajé Walker (17 Articles)
Dajé Walker is a sophomore studying Secondary Social Studies Education and History at the Pennsylvania State University. Her obsessions are learning about the history of different countries, trying new foods, and improving her very amateur photography skills. She will be studying abroad this spring with the Institute for the International Education of Students (IES Abroad) in London, England. As an aspiring educator and researcher, she hopes to learn from every experience that she has over the course of the semester. She will be writing weekly reflections on her adventures this semester.

Leave a Reply

