We Meet Again, Barcelona

Daje Walker is a sophomore Studying abroad in Europe this semester and spent this weekend in Barcelona.

Three years ago I traveled abroad, for the first time, to Spain. This weekend I made my way back and spent the weekend in Barcelona. The trip started in a disaster but ended with amazing memories.

Friday morning, after having around two hours of sleep, I made my way to King’s Cross Station to get on the tube to the train station. Upon arrival I realized that I forgot my passport and documentation to get back into the U.K. After retrieving my documentation, I arrived at the tube platform 30 seconds after the tube left. The next tube, which was 10 minutes later, took me to the train that I missed by three minutes. When I finally arrived at Stansted Airport, I was in the longest security line. I had about 20 minutes to make it to my departure gate. Thanks to the kind passengers in the security line, I was able to make it to my gate with six minutes to spare.

We stayed in an Airbnb. I had my hesitations but we had a great experience in the apartment. The three of us shared the apartment, which was close to the major train station. When I walked out of the train station, I realized that this was the station that I had arrived in on my journey from Madrid to Barcelona three years ago.

We went straight to Las Ramblas for pictures. The weather was a stark contrast to the weather in London. It was warm with a light breeze and the sun was out the whole afternoon. We walked up a monstrous hill to Park Güell. I wish they still had tickets for the day so that I could get transformation photos.

We went back to Las Ramblas for dinner. We had an authentic Spanish cuisine, Paella and Sangria. For the rest of dinner we got to know each other a little better. One of the travelers attends Howard University. Naturally we had to ask about her experience at a Historically Black University and compare them to the experiences that we have had at our own respective universities.

Saturday we began our day by having breakfast at the Milk Bar located in one of the winding streets. After Deborah and I experienced a fantastic free tour by Sandmen in Berlin, we decided to go on their Barcelona tour. Our tour guide told us great stories about the history of Barcelona and took us to many of the sites that I did not get to see during my last time there. After the tour we bumped into a parade. There were people on stilts dressed up like people from the 18th century and others who brought their kids along for the dress up day.

In the train station directly behind the festivities there was a flea market. I saw everything from comic books to cassette tapes being sold. I assumed that the train station was either inactive or all trains were halted during the flea market times. I was completely wrong. Every time a train came in crowds of people would exit. It must be good for business when the trains come.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Cover Photo Credit: IAU France

About Dajé Walker (17 Articles)
Dajé Walker is a sophomore studying Secondary Social Studies Education and History at the Pennsylvania State University. Her obsessions are learning about the history of different countries, trying new foods, and improving her very amateur photography skills. She will be studying abroad this spring with the Institute for the International Education of Students (IES Abroad) in London, England. As an aspiring educator and researcher, she hopes to learn from every experience that she has over the course of the semester. She will be writing weekly reflections on her adventures this semester.

Leave a Reply

