Where has the Time Gone?

As my study abroad trip comes to an end, I decided to say farewell to a few important things.

After four amazing months interning at The Benjamin Franklin House, I needed to say my goodbyes. There was a group of two women that I gave a tour to on Monday. They were the best tour group over my four months. One of the women was so excited that she took pictures of her foot on the same wooden floors that Benjamin Franklin once walked across. I never thought about it until I met her, but every day for four months I walked on the same floors and in the same rooms that Benjamin Franklin has once done. Nerd moment: that was freaking awesome! Thank you to the staff and volunteers at the Benjamin Franklin House for being patient with me and teaching me the ropes. I will never forget this experience.

This week I explored Westminster Abbey, Tower Bridge, Hyde Park, and had my final classes in London. January feels like so long ago. I never thought that last Thursday would come and I would take my last classes in London. Where did the time go?

Westminster Abbey was a lot more crowded than what I thought. There are tons of statues cluttering the area. It was gorgeous on the inside. The working Abbey does not allow guests to take photographs or record anything so all I knew about the inside is what I gained from William and Kate’s wedding. Turns out that was not informative because parts of the Abbey are removed for more seating during the wedding.

Tower Bridge is breathtaking. Deborah and I were able to get tickets and wonder through each side of the tower. I learned a great deal about the mechanics in the bridge and how it works every day. There is a piece of the floor that was replaced with glass in order for visitors to observe the cars below. I power walked, and recorded my feet, as I made my way across the floor. In the basement part of the bridge, there is an exhibit on women in the bridge. There is a short piece with the life of Pauline Etim-Ubah’s mother Julia.

Julia went to university to be a civil engineer but she, unfortunately, could not graduate. Pauline tracked down her mother’s university and obtained the degree for her mother years later. While conducting research on her mother’s life, Pauline was able to find parallels between herself and her mother. She found that her mother was a pioneer for women in civil engineering. Pauline put together a piece on her mother’s passport stamps to compare her journey to her mother’s.

Before I left the country, I needed to ride a bike around Hyde Park. Somehow I made my way to the outer perimeter of the park. At some point the bike line disappeared and the only other option was the car lane. I pedaled as fast as I could while periodically checking behind me to see if a car was coming. At some point I ended up back in the park, however there was not a cycling lane for me to ride in. I was forced to continue around the outskirts only to find myself in actual traffic. Thankfully there was a bike lane; that is until a few cars thought that the bike lane was an appropriate place to park their cars. My peaceful bike ride in the park turned into a desperate attempt to make sure I did not hurt myself.

Photo Credit: Wikipedia

About Dajé Walker (17 Articles)
Dajé Walker is a sophomore studying Secondary Social Studies Education and History at the Pennsylvania State University. Her obsessions are learning about the history of different countries, trying new foods, and improving her very amateur photography skills. She will be studying abroad this spring with the Institute for the International Education of Students (IES Abroad) in London, England. As an aspiring educator and researcher, she hopes to learn from every experience that she has over the course of the semester. She will be writing weekly reflections on her adventures this semester.

Leave a Reply

