A Letter to the Best People I’ve Met at Penn State: Dorianne Young’s Senior Column

So, even if we find ourselves separated by the vast oceans and the limitless sky; I, my dearest friend, will never say goodbye.

A letter to the best people I met at Penn State,

It doesn’t matter when I met you. Maybe it was in our freshmen year, when we were both new at this thing called college. We were young, scared, and missed home like crazy, but we found in each other  the fire to warm our hands during our first winter in State College. Or maybe, I met you somewhere in between, when you transferred from another campus, another college, or another country and destiny put us together in the same place at the right time. Perhaps, I met you last year and you have become the first person I call when something really great happens. You taught me that friendship doesn’t have a time tag.

Thank you is never enough for all the great moments we had and all the memories we built together. Thanks for everything that made our friendship grow lovelier and stronger every day from the belly-hurting laughs, the jokes from class you and I only understood, the infamous all-nighters fueled by Starbucks iced caramel macchiatos, the coincidental encounters at the HUB filled with “Oh-my-Gods” and “I-haven’t-seen-you-in-forevers, the overflowing joy of seeing each other after summer vacations, the trips and adventures we took together (even if it only meant going to Walmart), to those nights we talked for hours and I realized wow, what an amazing human being I have in front of my eyes.   

No matter where I go or who I become, know I will always carry you with me. You have shaped me into who I am today. I am after all, the sum of all the people I have met. So, even if we find ourselves separated by the vast oceans and the limitless sky; I, my dearest friend, will never say goodbye.

Yours truly,

Dorianne Young

Leave a Reply

