Pre-Trip Goals and Hopes

Sydni Jean is a rising junior majoring in communications who is studying abroad for the summer in France.

Paris, France. What a time to be alive. My first time in Paris will be a good one and I cannot wait. I have been very nonchalant about the fact that I will be staying and studying in another country for 2 months. As the time gets closer, I get more anxious and nervous about going. All of these questions come to mind such as “what if I get lost,” or “what if I don’t understand anything anyone is saying.”

Those are the things that I worry about everyday, but I am excited. Going into an unknown place is probably one of the scariest and craziest thing that I have ever done. I am going with a group, but it’s a little nerve wrecking. This program is through Penn State during the summer, where a group of students go to learn french at their own level. Two teachers go along in order to make sure everything runs smoothly and that the students know where to go. There is a variety of students who come on this trip and all of them are on different levels of understanding of the french  language. This summer class will count for the next two french classes that the student needs. I just happened to be one of those blessed students that got the opportunity to be apart of the group.

The reason I felt like I needed to go is because I want to learn how to speak more in french and learn more vocabulary. French is my minor and I want to be as good as I can be. In my opinion, immersing myself in the culture and language is the best way to do so. Not only do I get to learn about the language, but I get to learn about the customs and social norms in France and also I get to experience it for myself.

My goals for this study abroad trip are really empowering and are focused on my growth as an individual. For one, it is to get a better understanding of the french culture and language. I want to get to an intermediate level of french because I think I am still at the beginner level.

Secondly, I definitely want to put myself out there and take advantage of the opportunity that is in front of me. I plan to travel to as many countries I can and become more of a social person with the people in my group and in my classes. I plan to meet new friends and get close to them in order to network and make lifelong friendships. Lastly, I want to get out of my shell by doing things for myself and communicating with people more. That is one thing I really want to do. This opportunity is for me to continue to learn myself, gain independence and continue to learn more of french.

These next 9 weeks will be a challenge, but I plan to get through it with God on my side and supportive friends and family.

Bon Voyage!

Photo Credit: Hosted Villas

About Submissions (13 Articles)
Submissions are reader-submitted posts from those within the Penn State community. Submissions do not necessarily reflect the views of the Underground staff.

Leave a Reply

