Chance the Rapper’s Coloring Book Should Be on Your ‘Must Listen To’ List This Summer

“I don’t make songs for the free, I make ’em for freedom…Don’t believe in kings, believe in the Kingdom” – Blessings, Chance the Rapper

Chance the Rapper harvard

If you haven’t taken the time to give this mixtape a listen, you’ve been missing out. After a long three-year wait, Chance the Rapper finally graced his fans with his third mixtape titled “Coloring Book” on May 13th. If you’re part of the small group that hasn’t been introduced to this new genre commonly called praise pop, hip-hop gospel or spiritual rap, you need to at least give it a run through. I’m just going to say it now, this was hands down, the best gospel-rap mixtape I’ve listened to.

I’ll be honest and say that upon the first listen, I liked it… I wasn’t overly wowed by it but I liked it. However, I found myself coming back to Coloring Book again and again because Chance is just that artist. It was at that moment that I realized this was an amazing creation, which is why I had to take my time before I wrote this review.

First things first, the opening track, which features the great Kanye West, as well as Chicago Children’s Choir, gave me ‘ The Life of Pablo’ vibes while other tracks like ‘Blessings’, ‘How Great’, ‘Finish Line’ and ‘Drown’ made me feel like I was sitting in my Southern church in South Carolina. I also loved that he brought back many of his old features like Noname and D.R.A.M, while also introducing us to some lesser known voices as well.

This mixtape felt nothing like Chance had done before. The overall nostalgic themes sprinkled throughout the mixtape give the listener the impression that he has Chance is beginning to mature, but he has accepted that and embraced the change. In Summer Friends’, he is embracing the fact that he was growing away from his crew from younger days. In ‘Same Drugs’, he’s parting ways with the innocence of being young and telling his plans for the future in the song titled ‘All We got’.

You can stream Coloring Book via Spotify below:

Overall, this mixtape must be added to you summer playlists. It has songs for every mood, which is perfect. And, if you’ve never heard of Chance before, go ahead and add 10 Day and Acid Rap to your playlists as well! You won’t be sorry!

Image Credits: ChanceRaps, Missinfo, The Fader

 

 

About Alicia Harris (12 Articles)
Alicia is a positive freshman majoring in biochemistry from Northern Virginia. She has big dreams of becoming a surgeon someday many years from now. When she’s not in class, eating, sleeping or studying, you can find her reblogging and starting conversations on Tumblr after-hours, or starting conversations about social justice with friends. In her free time, she loves to take pictures, watch movies, sing and discover new musicians on Spotify.

Leave a Reply

